Highest Reason

I really admire the value our Persecuted Brethren place on the Word of God; I desire that for myself as well. Personally, I imagine I would value it to the same extent if I could not access it easily, or were threatened to never again have access to it.ย In that case, I would try my darnedest to memorize it, before that time came. However, this motivation is still limited because a crucial connection is missing. Today, I have shamefully come to that connection; or rather, I have thankfully reached a new height in my growth in the “benevolence and recognition of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ” (2Pet3:18). Now, this is , to me, the highest reason for treasuring the Word of “God with my whole heart, and with my whole soul, and with my whole mind” (Matt22:37).

To explain the connection I am talking about, there is no better than The Word of God Himself. Let’s consider a few examples:
1โ€ข John17:17 “Sanctify them in Your truth. Your word is truth.” โ€” John14:6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life.”
2โ€ข Ps119:105 “Your Word is a lamp to my feet, and a light for my path.” โ€”John8:12 Then Jesus spoke again to them saying, “I am the light of the world. The one following Me will certainly not walk in the darkness, but will be having the light of the life.”
3โ€ข Ps138:2 I will bow down toward Your holy temple, and give thanks to your Name for Your lovingkindness and for Your truth; for You have exalted Your Name and Your Word above all.“โ€” John1:1, Philippians2:8-11 Revelation 19:13b;16b “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. And the Word became flesh and tabernacled among us, and we ourselves observed His glory โ€” the glory as of the Unique One from the Father โ€” full of grace and truth. And being found in appearance as man, He humbled Himself, having come to be obedient to death, even a death from a cross. Therefore God also highly exalted Him and gave Him a name which is above every name, so that at the Name of Jesus every knee should bow, of heavenly beings and earthly beings and subterranean beings, and every tongue should publicly confess that Jesus Christ, the Word of God, is King of kings and Lord of lords, to the glory of God the Father. “

How different would our experience of/with The Word of God be, if we had this reasoning every time we read it, hear it, think of it? I repeat, how different would our experience of/with The Lord Jesus Christ be if we had this reasoning every time we read of Him, hear Him, or think of Him? Because whatever we do or don’t do with The Word of God, the same we are also doing or not doing with The Lord Jesus Christ, God in the flesh. I hope and pray to always remember thisย highest reason.

I'd like to hear from you. Leave your thoughts!

